How I like to work

Since getting back from India and returning to work, I’ve been thinking about what I need in my work environment to work most effectively. I need three things,

  1. A relatively quiet area, with some random, unobtrusive background noise
  2. An uninterrupted block of time
  3. Plenty of scratch paper

And that’s all I need. But there are a few things I like to have as well: a Roost laptop stand, a bluetooth, backlit keyboard (don’t have this yet), a bluetooth mouse or trackpad, and a desk chair wide and deep enough for me to sit in Ardhasiddhasana.

You’ll notice that I mention a desk chair rather than a standing desk. I used a standing desk for about a year and realized that I’d rather just sit in Ardhasiddhasana instead. You might be wondering why the heck I want to sit like that. For those who don’t know, I teach classical hatha yoga and sit in that asana for the entirety of each class. It stabilizes the body and mind in such a way that you don’t need food, water, or bathroom breaks as much as everyone else does. It also increases mental alertness and focus. I’m sure you can see how that might be useful.

Leave a Reply

