Blog goals for 2015

I’ve been doing the 10 Days to a Better Blog online workshop as a way to breathe new life into my blog. I’ve never given it much attention until now. I’m on Day 8, where you focus on setting goals for your blog, using the SMART goals methodology:

  • Specific – target a specific area for improvement
  • Measurable – quantify or at least suggest an indicator of progress
  • Assignable – specify who will do it
  • Realistic – state what results can realistically be achieved, given available resources
  • Time-related – specify when the result(s) can be achieved

Some people aren’t a fan of this approach, but it suits me. I especially like the metrics. By the way, the fact that I’ve made it to Day 8 is nothing short of amazing.

Specific goals

My difficulty in the past has been maintaining momentum. When other aspects of life were looming large, the blog was the first casualty. So, I want to write at least one post per week. If I do more than that, great. I also want to make sure I cover the topics I plan to write about over the course of the year. That will keep the content somewhat varied and will also make sure I devote time to those topics in my life outside of the blog. So, for 2015 I want to:

  • Write one post per week.
  • Write posts covering all of the topics I want to write about.

Progress Metrics

This is easy enough.

  • Posting frequency
  • Post topic frequency

I’m also going to track the day of the week on which I tend to write. I’m going to aim for Wednesday, since those are generally less busy days for me, but I don’t want to commit to a specific day.

Assignable

Obviously, I’m going to do the writing.

Realistic

How realistic is all of this? I should be able to write one post per week. The only thing stopping me would be me. And I don’t plan on stopping myself this time around.

Time-related

I don’t want to try ramping up to one post per week. It only works if I start now. So, this is today’s post.

